Evo India

Hyundai Verna wins the prestigious ICOTY 2018 award

Team Evo India

The results of the 13th Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) were announced yesterday, December 13, 2017. Hyundai Verna was awarded the ICOTY 2018 in the presence of experts and enthusiasts from the Indian automobile industry. The event was conducted at Taj diplomatic enclave in New Delhi. Mr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman and MD, JK Tyre & Industries Limited presented the award. JK Tyre has played a leading role as a sponsor since the inception of these awards.

Mr. Bob Rupani, Founder Jury member, ICOTY, and Chairman, ICOTY 2018, congratulated the winners, “ICOTY has had a long and eventful journey. Along the way, these awards have become standards against which the industry measures itself now. For me personally, that is a feeling of immense pride. These awards recognise the innovation and hard work put in by auto manufacturers in creating vehicles that are loved by consumers and made for Indian roads. I congratulate Hyundai for developing a car, which impressed the jury by its amazing performance and styling, not to mention becoming a darling of the people in such a short time.“

After Verna received the ICOTY 2018, Managing director and CEO of Hyundai India, Y K Koo said, “ICOTY has always been a pioneer of the Indian auto awards and winning it is a special achievement. Our team has put in a lot of efforts in creating the best vehicle for our customers. It feels great that the jury have recognised our efforts and we would also like to thank our valuable customers who have loved our car over others. It is always a great feeling to have so many competitors, all of whom have brought out beautiful cars this year.

The jury members include sixteen of India’s renowned auto journalists with years of experience and testing expertise to form this distinguished panel and hand-pick the most deserving model. This year’s jury consisted of Aspi Bhathena and Sarmad Kadiri from Bike India, Shubhabrata Marmar and Abhay Verma of Overdrive, Kartik Ware and Raunak Ajinkya of Motoring, Sirish Chandran and Aninda Sardar from evo India, Pablo Chaterji representing Man’s World India, Arup Das and Jared Solomon of AutoX, Rahul Ghosh and Abhik Das of Auto Today, Devesh Shobha and Debabrata Sarkar of Top Gear India, and Vikrant Singh from CarWale.

The Indian Car of the Year awards were started in 2005 to choose the best car in the country by taking into account various factors including safety, comfort, styling, performance, practicality, fuel efficiency and value for money parameters. The Hyundai Verna had emerged as a winner after competing with 15 cars. Notably Hyundai has won the ICOTY three times in a row from 2014-2016.

We have driven the new Verna and the review is available here.