2017 MRF Challenge to be flagged off in Bahrain

Bahrain will host the first round of the 2017 MRF Challenge this month encompassing youth from across the globe in Formula 3 specced cars. The winter racing series comprises of 16 races in 4 rounds in different locations like Bahrain, Dubai, Abu Dhabi and  Chennai. The cars used this season feature design inputs from renowned F1 designer, Adrian Newey.

“We are extremely excited to announce the launch of the sixth season of the MRF Challenge. It is very rare for championships to go down to the wire but last year saw the eventual winner clinching it on the final lap of the final race. We provide drivers with identical cars so that talent plays a key role and this also helps drivers develop. This season features another exciting line-up and we are confident of some exciting wheel-to-wheel racing”, said Arun Mammen, managing director, MRF tyres at the event.

The MRF Challenge car is powered by a 2-litre Ford Mountune Duratec engine with peak power of 230bhp, mated to a Hewland 6-speed sequential gearbox with integrated dash and paddle shift system. The chassis is built by JA Motorsport in technical collaboration with motorsport giants, Dallara. The championship grid will see 18 drivers this year, for each race.

MRF Challenge 2017-2018 Calendar

Round 1: November 16-18, 2017, Bahrain, Bahrain International Circuit (WEC Support Race)

Round 2: December 7-9, 2017, Dubai, Dubai Autodrome

Round 3: December 13-15, 2018, Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi

Round 4: February 2-4, 2018, Chennai, Madras Motor Race Track

Driver Line-up:

  1. Nazim Azman (Malaysia)
  2. Harri Jones (Australia)
  3. Richard Wagner (Germany)
  4. Robert Megennis (USA)
  5. Henning Enqvist (Sweden)
  6. Julien Falchero (France)
  7. Daniel Nielsen Frost (Singapore)
  8. Rinus Van Kalmthout (Netherlands)
  9. Perdana Putra Minang (Indonesia)
  10. Kurt Hill (Australia)
  11. Dylan Young (Australia)
  12. Pavan Ravishankar (Singapore)
  13. Alex Karkosik (Poland)
  14. Michelangelo Amendola (Belgium)
  15. Felipe Drugovich (Brazil)
  16. Presley Martono (Indonesia)
  17. Louis Gachot (France)
  18. Manuel Maldonado (Venezuela)

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India