Hamilton Seals seals third consecutive championship at the US Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton sealed the 2015 F1 championship with yet another victory at the US GP this weekend. This victory at the Curcuit of the Americas took his win tally to a total of 21 over two seasons and it is his 10th one this year. Hamilton is now the only F1 driver to win 10 or more races in consecutive seasons and the 10th driver in F1 history to win three or more championships along with Michael Schumacher, Juan Manuel Fangio, Alain Prost, Sebastian Vettel, Jack Brabham, Jackie Stewart, Niki Lauda, Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna.

Hamilton zoomed in first following his Mercedes team mate Nico Rosberg and in third place was Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel ,With this win Hamilton finds a spot among the greatest drivers in the history.

Hamilton started second on the grid behind Rosberg. However, he got off to a good start and was alongside Nico Rosberg almost immediately. Hamilton squeezed Rosberg wide and took the lead. Rosberg did get his position back on the 19th lap but made a mistake towards the end of the race and gave an opportunity he wasn’t going to pass up. Meanwhile, Vettel who had started at 14th following a 10 place grid penalty steadily worked his way up and finished at third. Hamilton’s has already won ten Gran Prix this season including the ones at Australia, China, Bharain, Canada, Britain, Belgium, Italy, Japan, and Russia. Of the six races he did not win, Vettel won three while Rosberg won three.

Lewis Hamilton leads the fight for the championship with 327 points. Behind his is Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel at 251 points and Hamilton’s Mercedes team mate Nico Rosberg in close pursuit at 247 points. But with just three races to go this season, there is no way they can catch Hamilton and he has essentially won the 2015 F1 World championship.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India