Jaguar F-Pace wins World Car of the Year 2017 award

The World Car of the Year 2017 winners have finally been announced at the New York Motor Show and the Jaguar F-Pace has been announced as the winner. Incidentally, the F-Pace has also won the World Car Design of the year awards as well.

The F-Pace was picked out as the winner from among 23 cars that were nominated for the prize. The process began with the nominees being announced in September 2016, followed by test drives in Los Angeles in November after which three finalists were announced in Geneva, The winners of the World Car of the Year and the other five categories were finally announced at the the New York motor Show earlier today.

The F-Pace claimed top honours, and beat cars like the Audi Q5 and the Volkswagen Tiguan. Dr Ralf Speth, CEO Jaguar Land Rover said: “The F-PACE was designed and engineered as a performance SUV with exceptional dynamics, everyday usability and bold design. Winning these two awards endorses the talent and great work of our teams that have delivered the world’s most practical sports car and Jaguar’s fastest selling vehicle.”

Other winners include the Mercedes-Benz E-Class for the World Luxury Car of the Year, the Porsche 718 Cayman/ Boxster for the World Performance Car of the Year, the Toyota Prius Prime for the World Green Car and the BMW i3 (94Ah) for the World Urban Car. The winners are selected by an experienced panel of 75 jurors — all automotive journalists from around the world, of which evo India editor Sirish Chandran is a member.

Here is a complete list of all the cars shortlisted for the awards, along with the winners.

  1. World Car of the Year
    Audi Q5
    Volkswagen Tiguan
    Jaguar F-Pace (winner)
  2. World Urban Car of the Year
    Citroen C3
    Suzuki Ignis
    BMW i3 (winner)
  3. World Luxury Car of the Year
    BMW 5 Series
    Volvo S90/ V90
    Mercedes-Benz E-Class (winner)
  4. World Performance Car of the Year
    McLaren 570S
    Audi R8 Spyder
    Porsche 718 Cayman/ Boxster (winner)
  5. World Green Car of the Year
    Chevrolet Bolt
    Tesla Model X
    Toyota Prius Prime (winner)
  6. World Car Design of the Year
    Mercedes-Benz S-Class
    Toyota C-HR
    Jaguar F-Pace

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India