Tata Motors announces 17 potential Indian racers for T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship 2016

Tata Motors has shared the details of 17 potential Indian truck drivers who will compete against each other in the final round, Level-4 of T1 racer program. The final round will be shortlisting 12 Indian truck racing finalists who will compete against each other in season 3 of the T1 Prima Racing championship 2016, to be held on March 20, 2016.
Tata Motors have also unveiled new T1 2016 race truck, with 43 additional modifications for a faster and more exciting Season 3. The trucks were developed at the Tata Motors plant in Jamshedpur with inputs from Vicky Chandhok, the then FMSCI president, and two-time British truck racing champion Steve Horne. The MMSC officials kept a keen eye on safety guidelines issued by world motorsport governing council body, the FIA for truck racing while BTRA helped in optimising the truck for racing with the Tata Motors’ engineers. It was important to build all the trucks to an identical spec at the factory itself rather than outsourcing race preparation to different manufacturers.
The Tata Prima 4038.S will be competing in the 2016 T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship, with a maximum power output of 370bhp at 2100 rpm and a top speed of 130 kmph. There were significant modifications in the 2016 model like changes in fuel tank, brake cooling system, propeller shaft guards, racing seats and safety belts, exhausts and steering wheel. The new trucks also have reduced centre of gravity by 100mm, lighter suspension system, improved shock absorbers, improved brake cooling system with jet nozzles, new lightweight aluminium fuel tank and lower aspect tyres compared to last season.
On the race day there will be two race categories with four races –
Two Super Class – Comprising of Indian race truck drivers
Two Pro Class – Comprising of Internationally acclaimed drivers with proven experience in the field of truck racing

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India