FIA re-elects Vicky Chandhok as the president of its APRC Working Group

FIA re-elects Vicky Chandhok as the president of its APRC Working Group

Vicky Chandhok has been unanimously elected as the president of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship Working Group for a second consecutive time at FIA’s annual meeting in Johor, Malaysia on Monday, July 23.

The representatives felt that the organization needs continuity in their core’s functioning and hence they unanimously re-elected him. The Working Group is focused on maintaining stability as it faces new challenges like entering Japan and China to meet new manufacturers.

The FIA APRC Working Group has members from a number of Asia Pacific Countries like Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and Indonesia who also attended the meeting. To discuss the organization’s problems and possible solutions for the future, Wayne Christie, president of the FIA Rally Commission was also present in Johor for the meeting.

On his election for another two-year term, Vicky Chandhok said, “It was a bit of a surprise that I was unanimously requested to continue as President for another term. Rallying continues its upward trend in the region and I am honoured to continue what we started two years ago. Our focus will be on expanding to new regions and continue growing the sport at the grass root level”.

In his office, Japan’s Takahito Sugita will serve as the vice-president while Malaysia’s Tengku Shaharin Abu Bakar and New Zealand’s Willard Martin will be serving on the executive committee.

Chandhok has also been asked to join the FIA Regional Rally Working Group which will meet in Paris on August 21 for discussions regarding all the FIA Regional Championships.

Apart from the re-election, the meeting also put forward revised regulations, a Media plan and a tentative calendar for six events in 2019 which will be finalised in September this year. India too is a part of the calendar for this possible list of events.

Related Stories

No stories found.