JK Tyre National Racing Championship 2018 – Round four, Day one

JK Tyre National Racing Championship 2018 – Round four, Day one

JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship 2018 – Round four – Day one!

It was the opening raceday, the ultimate round of the 21st JK Tyre National Racing Championship 2018. A spectacular showcase of talent and skill, tons of podium wins but the Championship silverware is still up for grabs here during the grand finale. However, this time there were two more categories added to the list. Yes, after the LGB F4, EuroJK and the Suzuki Gixxer Cup we also had fast, super-fast 600cc and 1000cc superbikes firing up the Buddh International Circuit.

LGB Formula 4:

Wheel to wheel battles in every tight corner meant the championship trophy holder was still not decided. In the first race, it was championship leader, Vishnu Prasad of MSport Racing who took the lead. He managed to outpace poleman Rohit Khanna of Dark Don racing. Only few seconds off was teammate Raghul Rangasamy who finished in second place while Sohil Shah finished the race in third position.

In a reversed grid second race, Rohit Khanna managed a commendable second place. By the end of the race, there were close to 5 cars battling it out at every corner. But, only one came out shining, a long awaited podium win for Diljith TS. Sandeep Kumar managed to untie himself from the ruckus and finished in third place.


With Ashwin Datta leading the Championship, almost six points ahead of Karthik Tharani, it was bound to be a close battle. Karthik and Nayan Chatterjee were in top form during the first race. Karthik got off to a clean start, giving him the boost to be able to gap the rest of the cars. Close to four seconds off him was Nayan who was being challenged by Brayan Perera. It was an easy win for Karthik, while Nayan finished second and Brayan came in at third position.

In a neck and neck second race, Nayan took the win, bringing him that much closer to Karthik on the leaderboard who was is now at 82 points. Arya Singh finished in second place while Karthik completed the podium. Ashwin Datta drops down to third place on the charts with 79 points.

Suzuki Gixxer Cup / Asia Cup Road Racing (ACRR):

Championship leader, Joseph Mathew who was leader the race dropped out due to a minor incident, giving Vidhan Dubey a chance to push through. Vidhan finished in the top spot in the Gixxer Cup class, while Anthony Lalwmpuia and Clinton Cordeiro finished in second and third respectively. Karthik Mateti took to the top in the ACRR class, trying his best to outrun Hansika Abeysinghe who came in at second while Max Stauffer finished in third.

Missed out on the action at Round three of JKNRC 2018? Click here

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India