Karthik Tharani Singh continues to lead this year’s MRF NRC by just one point

Karthik Tharani Singh continues to lead this year’s MRF NRC by just one point

By Team Evo India

Published on :

Karthik Tharani Singh held off Goutham Parekh and ArjunNarendran to win a brilliant race two of the MRF 1600 races at the Kari Motor Speedway in Coimbatore. Earlier in the day Goutham Parekh had taken advantage of starting in pole position
to win the first race of the MRF FF 1600 with 18 year old Tejas Ram taking his first podium in place ahead of KarthikTharani Singh. Karthik continues to lead the championship, albeit by just one point from Parekh with Narendran a further 17 points behind .

The races for day 2 of round 3 of
the MMSC-FMSCI National Racing Championship were delayed after
heavy rain hit the circuit early in the morning. Parekh started on pole position alongside ChetanKorada with MRF wet tyres fitted on for the first time this season. Parekh had a good start but
the fast starting ArjunNarendran from third on the grid was side-by-side as thetwodriversheadedintothefirst corner. Parekh held on to the lead with Narendran in second and Tejas Ram in third . With visibility very low the drivers did a great job to stay on track on a very wet circuit. Narendran had a spin at the back of the circuit and dropped down to fourth place. Tejas did well to put pressure on Parekh but could not get close enough to make a move.

After being dry for most of the afternoon the rain returned for Race two. Karthik, starting from second, got off the line quickly to jump reverse grid pole sitter Narendran and lead into the first corner. Parekh and Tejas battled for third place and exchanged positions three times before Parekh got back ahead and went after the top two.

Tharani Singh leads the championship with 120 points with Goutham Parekh in second on 119 points. Local Coimbatore favourite and 2014 Indian Touring Car Champion ArjunNarendran is in third position with 103 points.

Evo India