JK Tyre National Racing Championship 2020 gets underway this Friday

JK Tyre motorsport will hold back-to-back rounds of the entire event keeping the Covid-19 related safety protocols in place
Formula LGB4 cars in action at the 2019 JK NRC
Formula LGB4 cars in action at the 2019 JK NRCJK Tyre Motorsport

Motorsport is gradually resuming after an inordinately long pause to fight the global pandemic. Close on the heels of the MMRT hosting the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship this very weekend, the Kari Motor Speedway in Chettipalayam, Coimbatore, will also once again hear the familiar roar of Formula cars as the 23rd edition of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship (JKNRC) gets underway, that too this Friday onwards.

That said, the threat of Covid-19 is still at large. Hence, the organisers have put in place stringent protocols, matching international standards, to ensure the back-to-back rounds are held with the safety, comfort and convenience of all the teams, drivers, support staff, officials and media in mind.

“We have studied and followed every precaution prescribed by the world as well as national governing bodies to ensure the championship is conducted smoothly,” said Sanjay Sharma, head, JK Tyre Motorsport, adding, “In these unprecedented times we are delighted to host such an important event in the FMSCI calendar.”

Among the key steps taken to battle Covid-19, the organisers have clear dos and don’ts right from the main entry gate to all the way up to the track. The pits, too, have been extended considerably to ensure social distancing. Besides, local officials will be helping with bulk of the work to avoid too many visitors from other cities and states. Nevertheless, the organisers have kept enthusiasts in mind, and will be streaming the events live on Sunday on: www.jktyremotorsport.com/live

What to look out for

The JKNRC 2020 will witness two categories – the National championship class on JK Formula LGB4, an Indian manufactured single-seat racer weighing 450kg with a 1.3-litre engine and the JK Tyre Novice Cup for rookie drivers racing the Formula 1300s, which resemble the LGB4 cars, though sporting a different chassis design and suspension geometry. The former has attracted 26 of the country’s best drivers while the latter has more than 20.

The documentation and scrutiny will be on Thursday, followed by a compulsory drivers’ briefing, while Friday will witness the official practice sessions, qualifying rounds and two races in each category followed by four races on Saturday and Sunday.

There will be 12 races over three days, with each day witnessing four races (including two qualifying rounds on Day 1) that will test not only the speed but also the fitness and endurance of the drivers coupled with technical package put together by the teams.

The top racers of the country, including Vishnu Prasad, Raghul Rangasamy and Mira Erda (MSport), Ashwin Datta and T S Diljith (Dark Don Racing), and Chirag Ghorpade (Momentum Motorsport) to name a few will be in fray, battling for the honours. And as in the past, Ahura Racing’s all-women’s team will also be in fray, no doubt adding to the adrenaline on the track.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India