Rally of Jaypore 2019
Motorsport News

Rally of Jaypore 2019

Mayank Chopra and co-driver Chirag Thakur win the Toyota Rally of Jaypore 2019 organised by Thar Motorsports

Hari Kudchadkar

Toyota Rally of Jaypore 2019

Thar Motorsports is known for their tricky and well executed TSD rallies, and like the Royal Rajasthan Rally, the Rally of Jaypore made for a challenging motorsport event. The competitors had to cover close to 520km over three days. The TSD rally started with a vehicle scrutiny and was flagged off from the town of Amer in Jaipur post lunch.

The first leg of the rally started with a Super Special Stage (SSS1) which was held in Chandwaji. The SSS was setup in loose sand trails with sand dunes which the competitors had a tough time getting through. Scheduled for evening was the first special stage setup in Kukas and was made up of sand and gravel.

On the following day the drivers would cover a total of 225km including the transport stages. These stages were a mix of sand, gravel, tarmac and even riverbeds near Achrol and Ramgarh.

Stages were followed by a SSS at Amarsar Dunes with tricky turns and dunes along with a light drizzle which made it even more challenging for the competitors. The rally also crossed a rocky jungle trail spanning approx 10km. The third stage had similar terrain but was held in villages Amarsar and Reengus.

The winners

The duo of Devendra Rathore and Manish Saini was the quickest around the first SSS, finishing with a time 01min 23.575secs. Finishing only tenths of a second behind was the team of Rajesh Kumar Saini and Rahul Shailendra Singh.

Mayank Chopra and co-driver Chirag Thakur were consistently fast through the stages and managed to secure the PRO Open class and the overall win. The duo of Vinod Singh and Neerav Mehta finished second. Gaurav Bambi and co-driver Rajit Purushothaman finished third overall and also took the win in the Rally Prep open class. Along with the trophies, the winners also got a set of tyres from Apollo Tyres while the Toyota Fortuner owners got prize money upto Rs 25,000. Deepak Sachdeva and co-driver Japjyot Singh won the Luxury class while Yuvraj Singh and Vikran Singh topped the Amateur class

Evo India