Fabio Quartararo at the 2019 Spanish GP at Valencia
Fabio Quartararo at the 2019 Spanish GP at ValenciaMotoGP.com

Revised 2020 MotoGP calendar announced

The 2020 MotoGP World Championship, consisting of a minimum of 13 races, will kick off with the Spanish GP on July 19

After the cancellation of the Qatar GP for the MotoGP class on March 8 and the subsequent postponements of all other events due to the Covid-19 pandemic, FIM (Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme) and Dorna Sports have announced a tentative calendar, comprising of between 13 and 17 races, for the 2020 MotoGP World Championship. As per the new calendar, the first race of the season will be held on July 19 at the Circuito de Jerez - Ángel Nieto, in Spain, with a second GP the following weekend, on July 26.

The 2020 season will have a duration of four months if the championship is held only in Europe, but could be extended to five months if racing overseas becomes possible in the latter part of the year. If, however, overseas racing becomes a reality, the championship could also see the addition of the Americas GP (Austin), Argentina GP (Termas de Rio Hondo), Thai GP (Buriram) and Malaysian GP (Sepang). All of these races, which have understandably not been confirmed as yet, could therefore extend the season until December 13, the deadline for the completion of 2020 campaign.

Below is the calendar consisting of all the proposed races this season. Further, all the races will be held devoid of spectators, and will, of course, be subject to the evolution of the health situation as well as the approval of the governments and authorities for each country.

Proposed calendar for the 2020 MotoGP season
Proposed calendar for the 2020 MotoGP seasonMotoGP.com
Fabio Quartararo at the 2019 Spanish GP at Valencia
KTM back on track for private MotoGP test at Red Bull Ring

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India