Team Averera From IIT-BHU clocks the Best Mileage At Shell’s ‘Make The Future Live India 2019’

Team Averera From IIT-BHU clocks the Best Mileage At Shell’s ‘Make The Future Live India 2019’

The winning team clocked the best mileage of 387.9 km/kwh in the Battery electric prototype category

This was the first time the Shell Eco-marathon was held at Shell’s own campus in Bangalore, a big part of Shell’s ‘Make the Future Live India 2019’ campaign. The eco-marathon is a competition aimed extracting the best performance, technical know-how and team work out of the participating teams who showcase their most innovative and efficient mobility solutions. Teams from colleges/universities across India compete in a rather ‘silent’ and ‘intelligent’ race to see who has the most energy-efficient vehicle.

Game of efficiency:

The test track was laid out at the Shell Technology Centre in Bangalore, with a total length of approximately 900m to 1km. There were three main classes; Battery electric prototype, ICE – Prototype, ICE – Urban Concept, that would head out on track to show-off their machines. Out of the 24 participants that built their own energy efficient prototype, Indian Institute of Technology -Banaras Hindu University’s Team Averera were crowned for achieving the best possible mileage of 387.9 km/kwh in their Battery electric prototype.

Team Averera: “It feels great to be the champions again and retain the title in Shell Eco-marathon 2019. We have worked very hard to be where we are today and would like to thank all our supporters, sponsors and our institute. Shell events are always a challenge and we continue to learn and grow with every passing year. We would like to thank Shell for all the support, motivation and for providing this great opportunity to hone our capabilities.”

As for the super-light ICE Prototypes, K.J. Somaiya College of Engineering’s Team ETA managed to squeeze out the best possible mileage of 268.7 kmpl while Delhi Technological University’s DTU Supermileage clocked 141.4 kmpl with their ICE powered Urban Concept.

Off-track Awards:

Apart from the track performance awards, there were numerous ‘Off-track’ awards handed to deserving teams. ‘Off-track’ category: Communications, Technical Innovation, Safety, and Circular Economy.

Team Infieon Supermileage from SRM University, Chennai won the Communications Award and the prize money of Rs 2,50,000 in for executing an impactful communications campaign to promote their team in the competition. Team Averera from Indian Institute of Technology – BHU demonstrated exceptional technical ingenuity and innovation in developing their battery electric prototype. They were handed the Technical Innovation Award and prize money of Rs 2,50,000.

Team ETA from K.J. Somaiya College of Engineering, Mumbai won the most important award as per Shell, the Safety Award for demonstrating exceptional behavioural safety and safe working practices both in the paddocks and on the track. The team was recognized for their overall approach to ensuring their own and other people’s safety during the competition. They won a prize money of Rs 2,50,000 for their efforts.

Circular Economy Award

The newly added ‘Circular Economy’ award was presented to team E^2 from Graphic Era University, Uttarakhand for demonstrating circular economy thinking in the concept, design and/or execution of vehicle production, functioning and/or disassembly process. The objective of this category is to motivate students to think how they can integrate the concept of circular economy in engineering materials, products and services for real-life industrial and consumer solutions. The team received Rs 2,50,000 in prize money.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India