Vishnu, Muzammil win big at JK Tyre Festival of Speed 2019
JK Tyre Festival of Speed 2019

Vishnu, Muzammil win big at JK Tyre Festival of Speed 2019

Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad and Bengaluru’s Syed Muzammil Ali emerged the winners in their categories at the JK Tyre Festival of Speed held at the Buddh International Circuit

Over 35,000 excited fans had the time of their lives at the JK Tyre Motorsport Festival of Speed held at the Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida, enjoying the event which included stunt shows, tense races on both two and four wheels, close finishes and even a couple of spectacular crashes.

Formula LGB-4

Going into the final day with 73 points apiece, Vishnu Prasad of MSport and teammate Raghul Rangaswamy knew that simply finishing ahead of the other would be enough to claim the championship. However, the young racers still went all out, providing for a thrilling race, with Vishnu ultimately winning the crown in the coveted Formula LGB-4 category of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship, with Raghul finishing third to take the second overall position in the championship.

JK Tyre Festival of Speed 2019

Suzuki Gixxer Cup

The Suzuki Gixxer Cup too followed the script of the season, with Syed Muzammil Ali and Tanay Gaikwad locked in one last fight. Tanay, however, began with a huge disadvantage following a DNF on Saturday, which meant that he started from the back of the grid. Notwithstanding that, he valiantly fought his way up but could only manage a third-place finish to settle for the second position in the championship. Muzammil, who had an overnight 2-point lead, made sure that he hit the post ahead of Tanay to clinch the Cup.

JK Tyre Festival of Speed 2019

X1 Racing League

The inaugural edition of the X1 Racing league too proved to be with an instant hit, with its mix of top international and domestic drivers in an exciting new format. Bangalore Racing Stars, with Arjun Maini, Oliver Webb, Vishnu Prasad, and Michelle Gatting, claimed Round 1 thanks to their two wins on Day 1. They also won the last race of the round, the relay race, to emerge the clear victors.

Mumbai Falcons, (Kush Maini, Mikkel Jensen, Karthik Tharani Singh, and Pippa Mann) won one of the two races of the day and had to settle for the second position.

JK Superbike Cup

Chennai’s Rajini Krishnan took the win in the JK Tyre Superbike 1000cc class, while P Sai Rahil Shetty aced the 600cc class, with Japan’s Karen Ogura (Asia Cup Road Racing) winning the 300-400cc class.

RESULTS (Championship winners):

JK Tyre LGB Formula 4:
1. Vishnu Prasad (83 points)
2. Raghul Rangasamy (79)
3. Diljith T S (68)

JK Tyre LGB Formula 4 Rookie:
1.Megaa K S (85 points)
2. Mihir Barve (73)
3. Akshay Kapoor (62)

JK Tyre Suzuki Gixxer Cup:
1. Syed Muzammil Ali (64 points);
2. Tanay Gaikwad (60);
3. Sidharth Sajan (36)

Provisional Results:

JK LGB Formula 4:
1. Vishnu Prasad (23:16.961 minutes)
2. Ashwin Datta (23:18.060)
3. Raghul Rangasamy (23:18.675)

JK Tyre Suzuki Gixxer Cup:
1. Sanjeev Mhatre (23:28.022 minutes)
2. Syed Muzammil Ali (23:29.287)
3. Tanay Gaikwad (23:35.746)

Asia Cup Road Racing:
1. Karen Ogura (20:51.318 minutes)
2. Eane Jaye Sobretodo (20:51.478)
3. Mei Sakurai (21:01.006)

JK Tyre Superbike 1000cc:
1. Rajini Krishnan (11:49.834 minutes)
2. Dilip Lalwani (11:51.070)
3. Simranjeet Singh (11:53.166)

JK Tyre Superbike Cup 600cc:
1. P. Sai Rahil Shetty (12:21.241 minutes)
2. Gurvinder Singh (12:26.929)
3. Vishal Khubchandani (12:41.629)

X1 Racing League:

Race 1:
1. Mumbai Falcons
2. Bangalore Racing Stars
3. DG Racing, Ahmedabad

Race 2:
1. Bangalore Racing Stars
2. Mumbai Falcons
3. Superspeed, Chennai

Related Stories

No stories found.