Just one of many exotics one could spot at Race Wars India 2022!
Just one of many exotics one could spot at Race Wars India 2022!Adee Singh

Race Wars India 2022 — Season 1 Rundown

Race Wars India has returned for 2022, with Shrivatsa Somany continuing his good form by winning the first season

It’s race time again! The first season of Race Wars India 2022 took place on February 20, 2022 at the support paddock of the Buddh International Circuit. The event was organized by BND Motorsports, and saw an increase in the number of participants compared to the final season of last year. Not just that, but more than 260 runs took place in the first season of Race Wars India 2022. As you can expect, a host of cars could be seen participating in Race Wars India 2022, ranging from the humble Swift, the Esteem, Hyundai i20, some Polos, to exotics like the Mini Cooper, a 2009 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, the Audi S6 and Porsche’s 911 and Cayman.

Lightning McQueen in a new avatar?
Lightning McQueen in a new avatar?Adee Singh

This time around, things were slightly different, as evidenced by a completely new track layout which saw the drivers challenging themselves on the track. The track featured a mixed setup of tight turns and short but fast straight sections. Among many other things, there was also a drift exhibition this time by Kabir Sheikh.

Race Wars India is the only event in India to hold a twin-track tarmac Autocross event, which also saw plenty of close battles. The final event saw Shrivats Somany and Vidit Jain battle it out once again in the Porsche Cayman and Audi S6 respectively, which was eventually won by Somany, continuing his winning ways where he left off from the previous season. Karan Malik finished third in his Honda Jazz.

That is one mean looking E-Class!
That is one mean looking E-Class!Adee Singh

Let’s take a look at the overall results from the Race Wars India 2022 — Season 1

Overall Top 3

1. Shrivatsa Somany - Porsche 718 Cayman (77.146)

2. Vidit Jain - Audi S6 (77.371)

3. Karan Malik - Honda Jazz K24

Modified Overall

1. Achintya Mehrotra - Suzuki Ignis (81.544)

2. Bharat Yadav - VW Polo 1.0 TSI (82.503)

3. Gurjot Singh - VW Polo 1.0 TSI

Stock Overall

1. Vidit Jain - Audi S6 (78.438)

2. Prateek Dalal - Mini Cooper S (81.653)

3. Bharat Yadav - BMW M340i

Fastest Lady Driver

Kshamta Yadav - Honda City

Fastest Newcomer

Arpit Agarwal 85.735 - Porsche 911

The next season of Race Wars India 2022 is set to commence on April 3, 2022. For more such news on motorsports, follow our social media handles and keep up with the #ThrillOfDriving!

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India