HDFC Bank Accelerate Time Attack 2021 Day 1 report

The HDFC Bank Accelerate Time Attack 2021 event focuses on getting more people into motorsport
The HDFC Bank Accelerate Time Attack 2021 event took place at the Pune Kartdrome go-kart track in Wagholi, Pune
The HDFC Bank Accelerate Time Attack 2021 event took place at the Pune Kartdrome go-kart track in Wagholi, PuneTeam evo India

Organized by the India Automotive Racing Club (IARC) and Chetan Shivram Motorsports, Day 1 of the HDFC Bank Accelerate Time Attack 2021 event was held in Pune, on October 23, at the Pune kartdrome go-kart track in Wagholi. The HDFC Bank Accelerate Time Attack 2021 is an open time-attack event that is held in various cities all across India. It is the brainchild of former INRC champion and ace rally driver Chetan Shivram and is a part of FMSCI’s (Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India) new grassroots-level initiative. With this event, the organisers aim to promote motorsports among the masses and provide enthusiasts a platform to race in a safe environment.

The event comprises four categories spread across two days — Amateur, Professional, SUV Open and Diesel Open. It is open to all types of cars, ranging from fully prepped to fully bone stock. It is held on a specially constructed dirt track, which is designed by Chetan Shivram himself with safety precautions in mind. Any person that holds a valid driver's license with the addition of safety gear (helmet, gloves and shoes) and their own car can take part. Those who don’t have a car can hire one at the venue itself. The competitors get a chance to lap twice on a single run and set the fastest time, for a chance to win a prize and get on the podium after the full event!

Top rallyists like Dhruva Chandrashekar and Khyati Mody along with Sanjay Takale who has represented the country on international standards, were present at the event. With cars from rally prepped Gypsys and Volkswagen Polos to stock Maruti Suzuki WagonR and Nissan Terrano, Day 1 saw over 97 entries. Here's what the organiser, Chetan Shivram, had to say, "we've gotten an unexpected and a huge response from Pune and tomorrow we expect more".

Here are the best timings of each class from Day 1:

Professional Upto 1100 cc:

Abhinay Virkud - 03:39.3

Pradeb Biswas - 03:41.9

Iftheqhar Ahmed - 03:42.6

Professional Upto 1400 cc:

Ravinder Singh Assi - 03:21.6

Shivani Parmar - 03:39.7

Abhinay Virkud - 03:39.9

Professional Upto 1600 cc:

Jahaan Singh Gill - 03:19.8

Mazdayar Watcha - 03:27.9

Ravinder Singh Assi - 03:32.8

Professional Upto 2000 cc:

Jahaan Singh Gill - 03:20.5

Dhruva Chandrashekar - 03:21.4

Mazdayar Watcha - 03:25.0

Professional Ladies:

Nikeetaa Takkale - 03:37.7

Shivani Parmar - 03:40.3

Khyati Mody - 03:41.2

Professional Diesel Cars:

Ravinder Singh Assi - 03:24.3

Pradeep A Nair - 03:32.0

Mazdayar Vatcha - 03:34.8

Professional Rally Cars:

Dhruva Chandrasekhar - 03:18.6

Jahaan Singh Gill - 03:24.5

Khyati Mody - 03:29.0

Professional SUV Open:

Sanjay Lall 03:39.3

Pradeep A Nair - 03:41.0

Sayeed Sheikh - Open 03:43.4

Professional Time Attack Open:

Mazdayar Vatcha - 03:13.3

Dhruva Chandrashekar - 03:16.3

Jahaan Singh Gill - 03:21.6

Amateur Upto 1100 cc:

Iftheqhar Ahmed - 03:41.3

Tejas Chandrakant Hanjankar - 03:52.2

Pratik Desai - 03:53.8

Amateur Upto 1400 cc:

Jeet Tapaswi - 03:38.5

Samrudhha Patil - 03:41.6

Freddy Elavia - 03:52.7

The fastest lap was set by Mazdayar Vatcha, a time of 03:13.3 in his rally-prepped Maruti Suzuki Ciaz.

The event is open to walk-in registrations and its Day 2 of the Pune segment (final day) is scheduled for Sunday, October 24.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India