Vishnu Prasad in the lead after round one of the JK Tyre National Championship 2019

Vishnu Prasad in the lead after round one of the JK Tyre National Championship 2019

Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad takes home three podiums and a win in the FLGB category of the JK Tyre National Racing Championship 2019

Unlike the clean opening races on Saturday, Sunday’s races were filled with nail biting battles and dramatic clashes in the Formula LGB 4 races. Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad leads the championship with 28 points (provisional) after two race wins and out of three races. A disappointing third race for Chirag Ghorpade who had won both of Saturday’s race in the JK Tyre Novice Cup. Syed Ali proves his skills yet again in the last race of the Suzuki Gixxer Cup with a five second lead. All in all, the first round made for a super entertaining race weekend at the Kari Motor Speedway.

Formula LGB 4:

Both Vishnu and Raghul were in a tight fight for the championship lead. While Raghul had quite a disappointing first race, he did push harder on the final day, winning the second race defeating a quick Vishnu, and a second place on the podium in the last race.

Both the races were filled with contact and crashes, putting almost four cars out of contention. Adding to the excitement, Vishnu who had won the race, was dislodged from his spot, before being reinstated again after a series of protests.

JK Tyre Novice Cup:

Bangalore’s Chirag Ghorpade went on to take his third win of the weekend but was later penalised by 10 seconds thanks to a jump start. His revised spot was eighth, handing the race win to MSport’s Mohammed Ryan with Aaroh Ravindra finishing second yet again, for the third time. Aaroh’s consistentcy earned him the championship lead after round one.

Suzuki Gixxer Cup:

The Suzuki Gixxer Cup was a repeat of Day 1, with Bangalore’s Syed Muzammil Ali scoring an encore, but this time with over 5 seconds to spare. Pune’s Tanay Gaikwad (14:25.458) and Sidharth Sajan (14:27.480) held on to their podium places, in almost identical fashion.

The JK Tyre Redbull Road to Rookies saw Ikshan Shanbag of Satara underlining his potential with his second straight win. Prashanth R (Chennai) and Aryan Gurav (Pune) took the other two places on the podium.

A new category for women was also introduced, celebrating the best racer in the LGB-4 bunch. Vadodara’s Mira Erda (MSport) grabbed the honours by finishing ahead of all the women in each of the races.

Ahura Racing’s duo of Megaa KS and Diana Pundole took the first and second runner’s up trophies in this round.


LGB Formula 4 (Race 2): 1. Raghul Rangasamy (MSport) 18:28.329; 2. Vishnu Prasad (MSport) 18:31.673; 3. Sandeep Kumar A (Dark Don) 18:32.848

LGB Formula 4 (Race 3): 1. Vishnu Prasad (MSports) 20:02.742; 2. Raghul Rangasamy (MSport) 20:02.810; 3. Ashwin Datta (Dark Don Racing) 20:05.316;

JK Tyre Novice Cup (Race 3): 1. Mohamed Ryan (MSports) 23:44.056; 2. Aaroh Ravindra (Momentum Motorsports) 23:47.212; 3. Mihir Avalakki (Birel Art) 23:47.330

JK Tyre Suzuki Gixxer Cup: 1. Syed Muzammil Ali 14:19.609; 2. Tanay Gaikwad 14:25.458; 3. Sidharth Sajan 14:27.480

JK Tyre Redbull Road to Rookies : 1. Ikshan Shanbag; 2. Prashanth R 3. Aryan Gurav 14:35.073

JK Tyre Women's Category (LGB Formula 4) : 1. Mira Erda (MSport); 2. Mega K.S (Ahura Racing); 3. Diana Pundole (Ahura Racing)

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India