JK Tyre announces its drivers’ lineup for the INRC 2020

Leading the charge at the INRC overall category will be Gaurav Gill and Amittrajit Ghosh, along with their navigators Musa Sherif and Ashwin Naik
Gaurav Gill in his rally-prepped XUV 300 in action during the 2019 INRC
Gaurav Gill in his rally-prepped XUV 300 in action during the 2019 INRCJK Tyre Motorsport

Arjuna Awardee and multiple INRC as well as Asia Pacific rally champion Gaurav Gill will lead the JK Tyre Motorsport team’s challenge in the 2020 season of the FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship in the overall category. Driving the Mahindra XUV 300, he will have his friend and former teammate Amittrajit Ghosh, a past rally and racing champion, alongside, making it a truly formidable pairing.

“Gill and Ghosh are two of the country’s finest drivers. Their testing and feedback of our products and development will add tremendous value in our endeavor to return to Indian rallying bigger and better,” said Sanjay Sharma, head, JK Tyre Motorsport.

“We are happy to have them lead our challenge”, he said, adding, “even in these unprecedented difficult times, India’s finest talent have found support of JK Tyre, adding up to 24 members who will be sporting our colours in the event.”

“We are looking forward to an interesting competition in the challenging terrains of Arunachal,” said Gill, revealing that he has been preparing for the season with renewed vigour.

“I am happy to be back with JK after a brief hiatus,” Ghosh added.

And that’s all; also flying the JK Tyre Motosports’ canary yellow colours will be former INRC champion Dean Mascarenhas from Mangalore (with navigator Shruptha Padival), Suhem Kabir from Coorg, Fabid Ahmer from Cochin and Syed Salman from Mysore.

Besides the above, JK Tyre in their endeavour to nurture grassroots talent, will also be fielding four local teams from the North East, including an all-girls team.

Phurpa Tsering (with Yashwardhan Kumar), Nabam Asha (with Dinky Varghese), Hage Naku (with Hage Bitu) and Pem Sonam (with Lenin Joseph) are sure to get a lot of support from their fans in Arunachal Pradesh.

The INRC 2020 season gets underway in Arunachal Pradesh on December 16, with two back-to-back rounds. The campaign will then move to South India, with the third round in Coimbatore and the final one in Bangalore.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Evo India